a sign of things to come?

1:21 pm | 06.22.06

While we're on the subject of Six Feet Under, I might as well entertain/scare/bore you (whichever is more likely for you...) with a dream I had the other night, straight out of an actual episode....

Wedding night. 10.28.06. The rings on our fingers, vows made, dinner served. The party in full swing....

Smiling to some relative I hardly even know, I sigh heavily, part exhaution from the long day, part relief from holding my breath all day, wondering if my biggest fear was going to happen. As I sit down to make my third attempt at eating a piece of cake without having someone interrupt me, a crowd of people circle around the dancefloor. The music, echoing loudly across the expansive marble hall, covers up the gasps and cries of the guests.

I push my way through the crowd to see my new husband sprawled out on the marble floor, face down....shattered drink glass by his right hand. I throw myself down on the floor next to him, grabbing his shoulders hard, hoping to shake him back to conciousness. Screaming in his ear won't help, even after the DJ turned off the music. All eyes are on me as I panic trying to remember what I'm supposed to do in situations like this. Then, almost like an out of body experience, I am suddenly standing over myself. I stand there, motionless, as I watch in horror, like the rest of guests. I kick him, hard. First, in the chest, then again in the stomach. I kick him repeatedly, cursing his drinking habits, screaching at the top of my lungs like a madwoman about how he never stopped drinking for me, never got help like I asked him to. I scream in his face and tell him what a loser I think he is, that he couldn't even make it through our wedding, our first night as a married couple, without drinking himself into a coma....

Exhausted, I slump over his still body, crying harder than I knew was possible.


Dream inspired by: The Black Forest || Season 4 | Episode 10 | Aired on 2004.08.22

This dream came out of the blue and really shook me up. I haven't watched that episode since last summer, so its not like I just watched it before I went to bed. Dreams really scare me, I never know what to do about them, especially when they seem so real, like this one did....

0 people had something to say