taking work too personally

11:02 pm | 06.14.04

Just as I was about to mention how well things were going for me at work, it all starts to turn back around again.

A week ago, on a daily basis, my numbers would be great. I'd be top in my department every shift, sometimes out of both shifts even. I'd watch my back and make sure good old James wouldn't beat me, and for the most part I'd manage to keep ahead of him. When the weekly report came out, I was pretty much top in my department for the week, warranties included.

By the time the report came out, my numbers were already slipping. No warranties, no matter how hard I tried. I could barely break 3000 in volume on any given day. What happened? Its not that business is slowing down really...the stores numbers are actually up. But for some reason I've dropped back down again.

So theres that I have to deal with, and then theres management as well. I suppose most people just want to sneak by, do their job, and go home at the end of the day. They couldn't really care less what their manager thought. But for me, its really starting to bother me. Whether I have a good day or not, management barely knows I'm there. After the amazing turnaround I had in my numbers, after coming out on top for the week after an incredibly horrible week prior to that, they still said nothing to me. Whats even worse, if a small group of us is standing around talking, both sales managers will talk to everyone else but me. What have I done to cause this? I don't get it....

Every week when the sales managers tell the different associates in my department what they need to do to help out the store, everyone has something, but me. They just sort of skip over me. They see me standing there...but don't say a single thing. They'll be like, "Jenny, please pick up on the warranties, we're slipping and really need your help. Mark, pick up your volume. Al, keep up the attachments. [brief pause while looking right at me] And Dale, you too, pick up the warranties today."

The only thing I get any sort of attention on is during the oh so wonderful pep talks the sales managers give us before every opening shift. Yet again James beat out peripheral associates. Argh. Like I'm really going to want to do anything after hearing what a useless piece of shit I am compared to this guy.

argh...don't mind me, i'm just crabby and taking this all too personally.

0 people had something to say