on the floor

10:13 pm | 09.01.03

First day on the sales floor was yesterday. Thanks to everyone who wished me luck! It meant a lot to me - it really helped me not get so nervous! You're probably wondering how it went, huh? Or...maybe not. Let's just say my entry from the other day was pretty much right on.

I was nervous as hell. Not particularly sure why...there are a couple reasons probably. The main reason being I have no idea what I'm doing. I'm certainly not familiar with my job yet...that's for sure. I can't find everything on the floor right now. It's been completely embarrassing having to track down another sales associate just to ask them something a customer asked me about! Isn't that the whole point of me being there - to answer customers' questions?!

At first, I wasn't being asked very many questions. For some reason, people never think I work there. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that I'm a girl working in a computer store...and 75% of our customers are males. Just an idea...Anyways, later in the afternoon, once the CSR's realized I wasn't one of them anymore, they took it upon themselves to really harass me and run me ragged. Any time a customer needed assistance at one of the registers, instead of paging for a general sales associate...they'd page specifically for me! A few times, when we were a little on the slow side, they started paging for me to come up to the service desk...but there wouldn't be anyone up there! The CSR would tell me, "Oh, sorry! (busts out laughing) We don't need you anymore!" What a pain. Yet is somehow slightly amusing?

Anyways, like I said the other day, cables are going to be the death of me! There are so many of them to learn, it's going to take me forever! As much as I would rather not learn about them, if I want to do my job properly...and do well at it, I'm really going to have to do my research and studying. With classes starting up tomorrow, who knows when the heck I'll find time to do that!

So...aside from all that, it was an uneventful first day on the new job. Yesterday I got lucky and was able to work with two other people. Today, unfortunately, it was just me and one other guy working the entire day. Thankfully, because it was Labor Day, we weren't open very long...and we weren't very busy. I've been lucky...so far, with the shifts I've been working...and the people I've been working with. I'm hoping it'll stay that way! I don't work again until Wednesday so we'll see then if the luck continues to hold up for me!

0 people had something to say