the residence situation

11:48 pm | 06.18.04

I started looking for a new place to live last week. I'm not really sure what prompted me to start looking, but suddenly I have this urge to look for a place of my own.

I'm sure my parents wish I would have started looking a few years ago, but they say I can stay here until I'm done with school. And that was the plan, too. To move out as soon as I graduated from college. I suppose I could still do that now, but I'm thinking otherwise now that the graduation date has been set back by a whole semester.

So far I haven't done too much to look for a place. I've started checking out apartments.com but everyone keeps telling me that an apartment is a complete waste. Well...considering my income and all that, I don't think I can really afford to get a house or a condo. Maybe if I had a room mate(s?) or something who could share the expenses I could see moving into a house...but I don't have a roommate at the moment. An apartment, I would eventually need a roommate to help me out, but I can at least move out for a few months on my own to look for one.

Speaking of roommate....Tom told me the other day that he started looking for a place to live as well. I can't tell if it was because I mentioned that I started looking or what. He says its because he wants to, but I don't know. A while back, before things got messy and complicated again, we had talked about the possibility of moving in together. We were both for it and thought it might not be such a bad idea. He said he just had to clear a few things, of course. One thing slowing all of this down was the pending millage vote in his city. Depending on how the vote went, the kid would either stay in the school district he's in now, or would have to be pulled. Well, the vote was Monday and passed. So the kid is staying in his school district.

While I'm happy the kid can stay with his friends and have the same teachers Tom did when he was younger, the prospect of moving in with Tom isn't looking so good. In order for the kid to continue going to school where he is, Tom would have to live in that particular district. I do not want to live there. While I haven't seen the entire zone, I'm not so sure we'd be able to afford something in his area. Especially not with our forever fluxuating income. On top of that, I do not like the surrounding neighborhood. Neither do my parents. I can only imagine the kind of crap I'd get from them if I moved there. While I know I've complained about living here quite a bit in the past, I can't really imagine living any where else. I've grown accustomed to having everything within a 10 minute drive. I love being able to walk to 7-11 or the ice cream place. I love living right around the corner from a fast food place. I love the idea of my city having a downtown area with lots of things to do. I love all of these things, and they are all missing from Tom's district.

Oh well...I don't need to be worrying about this for a while, if ever at all the way things are going. In order for anything like this to ever happen, the kid would have to get over his problems, the psycho bitch would have to stop being so psycho...or bitchy, I'll take either, and the world would have to stop getting involved in my relationship with Tom. In case you couldn't tell, I'm not holding my breath for those pigs to fly...or for hell to freeze over.

0 people had something to say