oh so smart

10:29 pm | 06.11.04

Wednesday, in my infinite wisdom, I decided to sit outside in the sun to write a few letters and finish up a book of mine. I was scrambling for something to do, something to keep myself occupied after the bad news hit. Unfortunately, I tried too hard to keep myself busy, to keep my mind off of things, and I sat outside in the sun too long.

Now, I'm paying for my stupidity. My back, shoulders, and legs are burnt to a crisp and are making sure I know it every move I make. Its not like they're just burnt, either. No, I have ridiculous tan lines too. Apparently I was sitting funny while I was reading and my burn shows it. Only the insides of my legs are burnt, leaving half of both my knees a nice shade of lobster red, the other still the ghostly white my skin normally is. I was wearing shorts at the time and unfortunately, one leg was hiked up further than the other so my tan line doesn't match on my legs.

My back is a complete mess. I was wearing my bathing suit, which happens to be a halter top. I have a white ring around my neck from that and a bright white stipe across my back from the other strap. In between, pure red. It hurts just to look at it, its so red. My shoulders are extra crispy as well, whichs makes for some difficulty when it comes to wearing a shirt. The strage thing is that my back around my arm pits are still incredibly white, as is the rest of my back about an inch below the stark white stripe in the middle.

So far the pain has been next to unbearable. I've been putting aloe on it all the time, but it doesn't help when the aloe dries and my shirt is stuck to my skin. The pain comes back ten times worse when I try to peel my shirt off my skin. Argh. Why am I so stupid? I don't know what is going to be worse....the actual burn healing or the peeling? I don't want to find out.

1 people had something to say