a night at the Silverdome

11:15 pm | 11.03.02

Well, I told you I'd keep you posted on the marching band, didn't I?

Here's your update...

I just spent the whole night in the freezing cold Silverdome.

Yes, that means they did make it to the State competition.

Apparently, they qualified to go and were even in 7th place going into the competition. Unfortunately for the band, they went second in their flight. No one was happy about this draw, it always sucks to go so early in the flight. Judges usually save points for the later bands. Even more unfortunate was the fact that they went right after the largest band in the flight. THe first band was 235 members. They were HUGE and took up almost the whole entire field, they could barely march around. Needless to say, it didn't make tiny 100-member Dondero look very impressive on the field.

Dondero ended up down two spots, in 9th place. The band that went before them ended up taking first place which was quite the upset. For as long as I can remember, even before I was in high school, one particular band had always taken first place in the flight. There were definitely quiet a few schocked faces in the crowds as caption awards were announced. Once you know who got what caption awards, you know who's in first. It was definitely close for first place. The first band took the first caption, the defending band took the second caption, and there was quite the uproar when it was announced that the first band took the best overall caption award. If the band wins that award, you know they took first.

So it was a teeht clenching night...in more ways than one. THe marching and music was awesome, and I'm glad I got to see my sister march her senior year, like I got to march mine. I wasn't too thrilled abuot the fact that I had to spend the night with my grandma. I had to drive AND babysit her through the whole night. I was quite annoyed with her by the end of the night and just couldn't wait to get home so I could lock myself up in my room. I'm certainly dreading having her come back next week for teh swim meet and my performance.

*~Katie~*

0 people had something to say