a new ring

3:38 pm | 09.18.04

On Thursday, after dropping my car off at the dealership, Tom took me to run all of my errands. When I got in his car, he handed me a fed ex envelop and told me to open it. Inside was a little black pouch which contained a beautiful titanium ring.

The ring truly is beautiful. It's a simple band with a sort of second, smaller band on top of it. The outside band is polished, while the top band is brushed. Inscribed on the inside of the band is "I love you with all my heart, Katie a st�r." To give you an idea of what it looks like, here's a sample picture from the website...

I wish I could say I was genuinely surprised when I saw the ring, but I sort of ruined it for myself earlier in the week in an argument I had with Tom. Even though I knew about it, it was still a complete surprise when I opened it up and saw it and and read what it said.

A few months ago, I bought a pair of necklaces, one for Tom and one for myself. Each necklace had a Celtic Love Knot, which represents two entwined hearts. I got got these necklaces for a couple of reasons. I gave it to Tom as a token of my affection. I was hoping he'd appreciate it and understand just how much he means to me. I decided to get the Celtic knot because Tom is very interested in just about all things Irish, Celtic, what have you. He even knows a little Gaelic, which I think is incredibly amazing. So, I went searching for a Celtic knot to show that I notice these things and if they are important to him, they are important to me. I also got them so we'd have reminders of each other.

I'm not sure if he got all this from the necklaces, but he wears it every day. I wear mine almost every day as well. On the days I don't actually wear it around my neck, I keep it on me, either in my pocket or in my bag. Thats how much this means to me.

At the Renaissance Festival last weekend, I found a Celtic knot ring for Tom as well, to replace a ring he would always wear that I absolutely hated for various reasons. I'm hoping now that he has a ring from me, he'll wear it everyday and will lose/destroy/put away the other ring. I'm sure he won't, considering he still has a certain ring sitting next to his bed, but I'll just have to pretend that any of this actually means anything to him. I know I will certainly treasure this ring.

0 people had something to say