the view

11:05 pm | 01.22.04

The sky was absolutely gorgeous today, up on death star hill. Yeah, I'm still calling it the death star, can't really get over the fact that I'm working there for the time being. Anywho...the sky was amazing. I couldn't help but notice the weird things it was doing. I am still so used to that particular area being entirely covered by some threatening storm cloud...thats what the weather usually seems to be out at school. I always loved the drive to school. It could be bright and sunny the entire way there, but as soon as I got off on University drive, a giant cloud just seemed to hover directly over the school.

So the sky at work. Man, I keep getting sidetracked. This morning I finally had to park in the employee lot, affectionately known as the Tundra. The lot I must park in is just about the furthest parking available from the employee entrance to the Tower. Fabulous, eh? Especially when its cold. Well...during my bitterly cold trek across the Tundra to get to the employee entrance (which is nothing but a series of revolving doors that I absolutely hate, activated by our key passes) I started looking around to try and remember exactly where I parked. While doing so, I noticed there was a rainbow around the sun. How cool is that? I don't see that too often...partly because I'm not usually outside long enough to ever notice it, and because in Michigan, its pretty rare for the sun to be out between the months of January and May. Usually its nothing but gloomy skies and horrible weather. And while I so strongly wished I would have still been in bed, far far away from the early morning and brutal cold, I'm glad I saw the rainbow around the sun.


Speaking of the sky...I must say, the view is spectacular out of my tenth floor office windows. Especially right before quitting time, just as the sun is getting ready to set. Simply amazing.

Anyways...the sky out the tenth floor windows was particularly amazing late this afternoon. All to the north of us, nothing but dark grey, threatening clouds. To the south of us, slightly lighter, whispier clouds were rolling in. Right where the clouds stopped, it looked like a huge wall, it just sort of stopped right there. The entire wall was slowly moving across the sky, trying to swallow what was left of the clear sky. Right between the two clouds, there was a strip of open sky exposing a bright orange sun. Everything was completely bathed in this golden orange light, it was beautiful. Wish you guys could have seen it....

0 people had something to say