successful beginnings

11:45 pm | 09.16.03

Sigma's first meeting of the semester was this evening. I was dreading the meeting all day...I was so nervous about how things were going to go, how many people were going to show up, and whether or not I was going to do a good job running the meeting. All my worrying was for nothing. It was a great meeting. Yeah, it was a little shaky getting going, but my fellow eboard members helped me out and we seemed to keep people interested. And, I was pleasantly surprised at our turnout, too! Ok, so we were lacking a bit in returning members, but we had at least 15 new people show up to the meeting. And most of them seemed genuinely interested in our groups! Over all, we had 38 people who said they were interested in being a part of SIgma.

Good news for us! We're not longer a dying organization!

Unfortunately, a little less than half the interested people actually qualify to be in Sigma...the rest can only participate through the English Club. Basically they're the same thing...we do the same stuff. Its just that being a member of Sigma looks a tad bit better on a resume than English Club does. Oh well...hopefully all those ineligible people will choose to stick around and help us out.

Speaking of Sigma...I've been super busy with all the Sigma crap going on. Its a pain in the butt trying to keep in touch with any of the eboard members. We were denied funding from the Student Congress this month...so we're really going to have to push things so we can get funding for the rest of the semester. The secretary is the most scatterbrained person I have ever met. You have to ask her to send out emails....and remind her about sending out the emails...and remind her about the reminder email you sent her. Its ridiculous. The VP is supposedly the most knowledgeable in our whole eboard since she was on eboard last semester. But she doesn't do all that much. She just sort of sits there, acting all snooty and stuff, and makes cynical remarks to John. argh And then theres our "recruiting officer" who hasn't done a single thing to help inform the student body of our existance.

Part of the reason things seem to be so difficult this semester is because none of us really know what we're supposed to be doing. I can honestly say I don't really know what I'm doing as president...all I do know is that I'm trying my hardest to get things to work out. Last year's president basically took over everything and did every job for every eboard member. While that was great for us last year, we knew things were getting done properly, we now have no clue how to do anything. She didn't leave much in the way of documentation of all the steps and procedures and blah blah blah that we need to go through to be an active (and successful) organziation on campus.

I'm seriously hoping that since we got such a huge number of people interested in our group that we'll be able to delegate projects to people. I'm definitely crossing my fingers on that one!!


I'd like to wish my grandma a happy 70th birthday! yay!

0 people had something to say