pointless stories

12:05 am | 11.28.03

I used to know this girl who had thumbs that looked like big toes.

She had small...incredibly small hands with short, stubby fingers. She was an amazing celloist. None of the teachers ever thought she'd be able to play as well as she did...kind of like the whole Lisa Simpson thing (her fingers were so short, everyone told her she would never be good at the tenor sax) But she was amazing nonetheless....

Anyways, her hands looked strange enough with the short stubby fingers. To see her "toe thumbs" made her hands even more interesting. I always wondered if her big toes looked like thumbs....


Every day, on my way home from school (and some times from work) I pass this sign on the expressway. Its just past the on ramp, on the side of the road, behind some factories. The sign reads "THESE TREES WERE ILLEGALLY CUT" and below it, there is a bunch of information about the fines one can receive if they are caught cutting down trees at the edge of the expressway and then gives the phone number someone may call to report the illegal cutting of said trees.

I find this sign completely ridiculous and unecessary. The trees were illegally cut. So? Do they (I'm not quite sure who 'they' really are at this point...) really think people are going to care that those trees were cut down illegally? Even if they do (or did) care, what are they going to do about it? There isn't much they can do. Do they think these people are going to volunteer to replant trees in the illegally cut trees places? Not likely...

I'd like to know how many trees were cut down to make that sign...wouldn't you?


I wish I had another little anecdote or whatever to put here....but I am at a loss for one right now. What a pity, I'm sure....

I own a bumper sticker that says "If you can't trust me with a choice, how can you trust me with a child?"

Wonderful, eh?

0 people had something to say