giving up on smokers

11:22 pm | 09.23.04

As many times as I told myself I wasn't going to give up on them, I have to give up on Jenny and Vince. I'm tired of fighting with them...

Jenny and Vince had been smoking for years. A little over three months ago, both of them decided it was a good time to quit. Everyone at work was completely behind them, since most of us are non-smokers. So, we'd all do our thing to encourage them not to smoke. For a while, it was working...but lately, things have just gotten ridiculous.

Like I said, I'm tired of fighting with people about it. Sorry for caring for these people, I didn't know it was such a bad thing to worry about peoples health. I'm tired of telling people that the reason I worry is because I had someone close to me die from smoking, and I'm about 75% sure I'll have another person close to me die from smoking within the next 15 years, if that even. So, I've seen first hand what happens to a person dying from smoking, its absolutely terrible and heart breaking.

But, rather than be appreciative of the support I, and other people at work, give....Vince and Jenny feel they shouldn't feel bad for what they do, they don't owe anyone an apology, they shouldn't have to feel bad if they're going to smoke....

Needless to say, both have broken their three+ month stretch of not smoking. I have yet to see Vince smoke, but I know he does. He's too ashamed to let me see it. Jenny on the otherhand doesn't care one bit. It started out as just social smoking, whenever she had a drink in her hand. Now, every hour or so, she's outside the front door of the store lighting up. argh...

Its so frustrating....yet I know theres absolutely nothing I can do about it.

1 people had something to say