first appointment

5:48 pm | 09.07.05

One of the last places you expect (or hope) to run into a person you know has to be a doctors office of any sorts...

As my luck would have it, as soon as I walked into the office for my appointment yesterday, I see my neighbor's son sitting in a chair reading a ridiculous tv magazine. I tried to pretend that I didn't see him when I first walked in and ran right to the receptionists window to sign in. I realized I couldn't be rude, so I looked up across the room as I was trying to find a chair, and there he was trying to make eye contact with me. He smiled and said hello with me barely able to squeak out a reply. I grabbed the nearest magazine off the table and promptly burried my nose in it, hoping he wouldn't want to strike up a conversation with me...

Geez...of all the places we could have gone to in the area, we both had to pick the same place. My appointment next week is at the same time, I wonder if I'm going to keep running into him. I certainly hope not.


Judging by the fact that I already have a repeat visit scheduled for next visit, my first session went fairly well. I like the woman I'm seeing, a very small, petite woman with a soft voice. Her appearance reminds me of one of my favorite teachers I had in high school. Hopefully I continue to enjoy talking to her and can get many things accomplished in our sessions.

Before my appointment, I had to fill out a ten page questionnaire, basically telling her my entire medical, physical, mental, and emotional history, My hand hurt after filling that thing out. I didn't get a chance to finish filling it out before she talked to me, but I had at least finished enough of it so that she had some questions to ask me. We at least got a start on some topics and discussed what I was hoping to accomplish during these sessions. I suppose it is too early to tell at this point whether or not these sessions will be beneficial to me, but I'm hoping it will at least be cathartic for me to talk about all of this with someone who won't yell at me for what I'm thinking or feeling.

Strangely enough, with as nervous as I felt throughout the entire sesion (I fidgeted the entire time with a pen,) I certainly was able to divulge a lot of information about my life and the issues I have that I wouldn't normally tell a person I've only known for 15 minutes, let alone a year.

So, we'll see...

0 people had something to say