a package arrives

12:05 pm | 09.15.05

A few weeks ago i sent a letter to Mrs. Steffy. At first, I didn't know what possessed me to write her, but after I got the idea stuck in my head, I just couldn't shake it. I wrote her a four page letter , letting her know that I was thinking about her, that she is always in my thoughts.

It had been a while since I sent the letter and hadn't heard from her yet, so I was beginning to think that she wasn't going to contact me. I figured it had been such a long time since I last talked to her, she didn't really feel the need to let me know she had received my letter. I also thought her silence could be attributed to the fact that my blabbering confessional emails scared not only dan away but his family as well.

However, my assumptions were completely incorrect. This afternoon on my way to lunch, I happened to glance in my mailbox and found a package. At first, I didn't think it was mine, but when I flipped the envelope over, I could tell by the little turtle scenery hand-drawn in crayon that it was for me. As soon as I realized who it was from, I wanted to rip it open to discover its contents. But, I jumped in my car and attempted to open it while stopped at red lights.

The package contained a small turtle change purse and a card. I opened the change purse to discover a note inside explaining the item. The note read:

Dear Katie,

everytime I see a turtle , I think fondly of you! Your love for that little critter and sacrifice - sending your dear pet back to his home in the natural world - was truly compassionate.

you and turtles will always be connected in my heart.
ann

On the back:

I saw this on sale & loved his smile...you've been on my mind.

bless your life,
keep your kindness.
ann

How wonderful is that? I started to tear up immediately when I read that. I really started to tear up when I read the card she had included in the package as well..

Dear Katie,

Thank you for youre sweet note. We miss you too. You were such a part of out lives/our home. I never quite understood what happened...Dan's first love... your note made me cry because everytime I see a turtle - any turtle - I think of you & the adventures we had. You're still with us!

The comings & goings of life are heartbreaking. As Buddha said, "Attachment is sorrow." Hard to get past it. We miss Dan and Pete, but have so much to care about - Busy w/ peace events this weekend. I'm going on a Zen retreat at Grailville this week & will go down to visit Dan. I'm glad you are still friends with him. If you're ever in the neighborhood, feel free to stop in, say hi, hug Gondo & share a cup of tea.

Peave,
Ann

My heart welled up with sadness and happiness all at the same time when I read that...I suppose I will have to explain why some other time.

0 people had something to say