latest addition

11:27 pm | 09.19.05

Some time last week, David (my sister's boyfriend) found a tiny baby turtle walking around where ever he was. He claims the turtle was no where near water so he decided to take it home with him to try and find a place to take him. At first, he wanted to take it to the zoo. Unfortunately, the zoo absolutely will not take any animals from random people. I found this out while trying to research some stuff about Simon. Anyways, I started asking some questions about the baby turtle, to see what it looked like and what they planned on doing with it. It just so happens that it is very likely that this little baby turtle is the same type of turtle my dearest Simon was!! When I found this out, I so badly wanted to take the turtle, but I didn't say anything....

I now have a new addition to my turtle tank. A beautiful baby Blandings turtle has made its way into my home. Steph brought him over last night because they couldn't figure out what they could do with it.

While he's not nearly as cute as Simon was, he's still very very cool. I'm not quite sure what I'm going to do with him, though. He seems rather weak and won't eat anything I give him. I'm afraid to leave him alone in the turtle tank because of Oliver. Tom and I put the little guy in there to sit under the lamp on the dock for a while, and Oliver attacked him. It was the craziest thing ever. Oliver had been swimming around for most of the night, since he won't get up on the dock when people are in the room, so I figured it would be safe to put the little guy in. Well, the little guy was hanging out on the dock, minding his own business. Next thing I know, Oliver is swimming directly underneath the dock where the little guy is poking his head out. Oliver starts paddling really really hard to push himself out of the water...and he stretches his neck out as far as it can go! Oliver snaps his head out and nips at the little guy, pulling him into the water!

Both turtles freaked out at that point and started paddling around the tank frantically. When I saw this, I started yelling at Oliver... why, I'm not quite sure considering the fact that neither one of the turtles can understand a word I say. But I started panicking because the little guy has a bad front leg. It appears that his right front leg is either hurt or shorter than the rest of his legs....my sister suggested that we name him Nemo. Since he's not the greatest swimmer, I have been trying to figure out ever since what I could do with the two turtles. I can't keep one of them in the dish tub the whole time like I've been doing...but I'm so afraid to leave them both alone in the tank - who knows what I'll find when I come home...an empty turtle shell maybe?

That would so make me cry....

0 people had something to say