poor little thing

11:03 pm | 10.26.05

As if one journal entry about sophie wasn't enough, here's another one!

Poor Sophie!

I feel so bad for her right now...I had to take her to the vet this morning before I left for work and she has to stay there over night. My first night without sophie...what am I going to do?

I had to take her to the vet to get her spayed and declawed. When I agreed to take sophie, I signed a contract stating that I would get her spayed and would have to show proof that I did, in fact, get her spayed at a certified veternary office. Because her favorite game is still pounce on Katie's head as hard as you can with your nails digging into her scalp and she loves playing rough, I had to give in and get her declawed. I've been so torn about the whole process...everyone seems to have their own idea as to what is the right thing to do. I didn't want to get her declawed, I totally agree with the argument that its a really traumatizing experience for the cat that can be avoided.

Apparently there are some cats that get along swimmingly inside the home without having to be declawed. Unfortunately, sophie just does not seem like she could be that type of cat. Ever. Even with a million toys, a huge scratching post, and lots of rugs for her to dig her nails into, she still loves digging her nails into my hands, arms, legs, and the vinyl covers on my dining room table and chair set. I was hoping that once she got used to me and my place that she would calm down, but it seems like the more comfortable she gets with the place, the more likely she is to sink her claws into something. Strange.

So, I dropped her off this morning, and I pick her up tomorrow. At some point this afternoon, I felt compelled to call the vets office just to see how she was doing. Last time I saw her, she was meowing her poor little head off as I was handing over her carrier to the vet to take a look at her. And yes, I did end up calling...after much deliberation. Paranoid? Maybe just a bit. Obsessive? Slightly. But do I feel better about my baby kitty being locked up? A little. It seems like she's in good hands, and at least the little old lady on the phone knew enough to humor me and walked over to sophie's cage and looked at her to make sure she was going ok.

I can't wait to pick her up tomorrow...even though there's a very strong possibility that she will be pissed as hell at me for sending her to this place and leaving her there for strange people to do painful things to her. poor sophie....

1 people had something to say