Give me fifty bucks, and I'll tell you what you already know...

8:16 pm | 01.12.06

I just paid $50 for a Vet to tell me what I already knew about Sophie...she's fat and...different.

After talking with Jenny about some of the things I was worried about with Sophie, I made an appointment to take her in to see the vet to get her checked out. I was getting kind of concerned about the fact that Sophie's belly is getting huge, but the rest of her is staying small. When I mentioned this to Jenny, she scared me when she said that sometimes thats a sign that they have worms... oh great. I got really worried about it because I had been planning on taking her to the vet all along, since I first got her, but I never got around to it. I kept kicking myself for not taking her to get checked out when I first got her from the rescue group...

But, I freaked out for nothing. When the vet took a look at her, I explained why I brought her in. The vet sort of laughed and said that some cats are just like that. So apparently I have one of those cats. I have one of those cats that just wants to get fat no matter what. She eats all of her wet and dry food each day, and she even begs for more. Lately, she has even been begging for people food and tries to steal our food off our plates when Tom and I are eating! Now we have to lock her in the bathroom or bedroom when we're eating, or risk wiping up paw prints off my floor. Her behaviour is kind of ridiculous, but according to the vet, some cats are just like that. She said that Sophie seems to have a small frame, so she shouldn't get too big, like some of those monster cats you always see pictures of online, that weigh like 24 pounds or something outrageous like that. I just have to monitor how much she eats by cutting back the food I give her each day, and possibly move her over to adult food a lot sooner than you're supposed to.

So, I have a fat cat. heh.

And I mentioned earlier that my cat is, well...different. I asked the vet about the meowing, or lackthereof...and the vet explained, again, that some cats are just like that. Sophie never meows, I don't think I've ever heard her meow. Instead, she just yips like a little dog or squeaks. A few months ago, when I picked her up from the clinic after being spayed, everyone who worked there mentioned how cute and playful they thought she was. The vet started mimicking her, her little yipping noises she'd make every time someone passed her cage. They thought it was adorable and just her being playful. At first, I shrugged it off as her being so little and not being able to meow yet, or maybe because she had been living in a home with six dogs and so maybe she picked up the noises from that. Who knows. But, it seems like some cats just never meow, and Sophie is one of them, according to the vet.

Great, so I have a cat that will never meow....just my luck. She's still incredibly adorable, though...and I love having her around. I can't imagine what I would have done without her the past couple of months.

And now for a randomly cute cat-in-a-box picture...enjoy!

0 people had something to say