wedding update: the dress

9:04 pm | 03.19.06

What a crazy weekend.... I knew going into all of this, any of my scheduled weekends off from work were going to be busy, but I had no idea I would end up feeling like I had to take off two more days just to recoup.

And I guess this is where I need to explain. This weekend was....

DRESS WEEKEND!!!!

Since Tom and I agreed on a hall, and since it met my parents approval, the next big step, logically, was to go shopping for the wedding dress. Despite everyone's busy schedules, my mom, grandma, aunt, and I spent two whole days shopping for the perfect wedding dress...and I think I found it. It may have only taken two days to findthe dress, I certainly had to try on quite a few dresses that weren't all that perfect. I'll spare you all the boring details, but lets just say it wasn't all that fun trying on 40+ dresses in a fitting room barely bigger than the dresses themselves in the middle of a store jam packed with cranky, bossy brides and even bossier mothers-of-the-bride....

Somewhere in all of that, I found, or my aunt found in a catalogue rather, a dress that fit me so perfectly, a dress that looked so gorgeous on me, that it made my grandma cry the moment I stepped out of the fitting room. Five minutes later, I still had the dress on...walking around in front of mirros, trying to get a glimpse of the dress at every angle. Mothers-of-the-brides walked up to me and my mom, to complement the beautiful dress. One mother even told my mom that "she didn't even know me and could tell that out of all of the other dresses she had seen me try on, that was the one she liked best. It was my color..."

Another mother went so far as to demand the dress the moment I stepped back into the fitting room. Not even five seconds after I shut the door, someone knocked on my door and asked me to bring that dress out when I was done with it. My mom handed the dress over, and ten minutes later it was on some other girl...and I didn't think it looked nearly as good on her as it did on me, but thats just me. I bet the dress didn't make her feel nearly as beautiful as this dress made me feel...and that's all that matters, right? It turns out, the girl and her mother really liked the dress, but I think they had something else in mind for a dress. I ended up asking for the dress back, tried it on all over again and I knew I had to get it.

The dress is ivory. Not white. At first, all the dresses I tried on were a blinding bright white that just seemed to wash out my already pale skin. No matter how much I lay out in the sun this summer or go to the tanning salon before the wedding, my skin is incapable of turning a healthy shade of brown to offset the paling effect of the white dresses. Anyways, the ivory dress brings out the color in my skin and the highlights in my hair. I have to play up my sickly coloring any way I can, right? I'm excited about the ivory dress anyways...it'll match the banquet hall so much nicer.

Besides the color of the dress, there isn't much else I can describe for you. Tom reads this from time to time, and I am hellbent on making sure he knows nothing about my dress until the day of the wedding. As disappointed as he was tonight to hear that, I had to tell him that its bad luck to see the brides dress before the wedding...and we need all the help we can get in the luck department. But, if any of you are interested in seeing a picture of the dress, let me know and I'll send you a link. Not that an online picture will do it justice...but it'll have to do for now, right?

2 people had something to say