updates of a homeowner

10:38 pm | 05.09.06

the house we bought is starting to look like a home. we've begun unpacking boxes and trying to figure out where, exactly, they're supposed to go. still to be unpacked are the various boxes labeled stuff or random office. judging by the lack of difinitive names for these boxes, they probably contain junk i should have thrown out before i made the move.

interesting fact: i only moved 1 1/2 miles south down one road from my apartment.

another interesting fact: i only moved 1/2 mile north and 1 1/2 miles west from the place I called home from the day I was born until January 15, 2005.

I suppose I've had fun making this space my own, without having to worry about whether or not it'll interfere with me receiving my security deposit when i move out. it has been exceptionally nice being able to wander around the wood floors with shoes on without worrying about whether a complaint letter will make it into my mailbox. all things i loathed about living in my apartment

ideas i love about living in this house:
- its mine.
- i now live with tom 24/7; no more of his moving back and forth between places bullshit.
- a smoker does not live below me, constantly puffing large amounts of smoke up into my apartment, ruining my clothes and driving my sensitive nose nuts.

poor sophie hasn't exactly made the adjustment as well as I had hoped, although things have gone smoother than i thought they would....if that makes any sense. i originally hoped that she would be unaffected by the move into a larger space, and for the most part she hasn't. she still hides out in my bedroom, absorbing the fabulous smell of dryer sheets. she just spends a little extra time up there when there are people over to help us work on the house. the hardest part of moving her was getting her to use her litter box again. I kept introducing her to it in its new location, but the thing stayed clean for days. not good. one afternoon, i finally had to sit dowwn there for fifteen minutes with her, until she fetl comfortable enough, and spend a good five minutes (usually she's out in less than two) relieving herself. poor girl....

craziest thing about sophie is that she started using her tent that my family bought her for christmas as her litter box whenever i didn't sit with her down in the basement. while i was a little upset about it soaking through to the carpet, i couldn't be mad at her because she has adjusted far better to the new house than she could have. i mean, my entire house could be soaking in smelly cat pee by now, but it isn't. i gave in and moved her box closer to where she likes to hang out, and she hasn't had a problem since. although i think it has more to do with the fact that i had to throw the tent out than actually moving the litter box.... oh well.

other than poor sophie, there isn't much else new on the new home front. at first i thought things were going to be great. tom was spending every night in the house with me, even on nights he had robert. i thought we were finally living the life i had always wanted to have together. unfortunately, aside from the sleeping arrangment, not much else has changed between us. as i so painfully found out, despite the fact that our wedding is less than six months away and are now living together, i am not allowed to go to roberts soccer games. tom also had roberts first communion....guess who wasn't allowed to go to that. i tried talking to him about it, but i couldn't in a way that wouldn't have lead to a fight. he also made it painfully obvious that he was tired of discussing those kinds of things with me when he'd give me a one sentence answer to my question, and then change the subject. i'm still upset with him and unfortunately theres nothing i can do about it. he won't talk to me about it, he won't arrange it so i can go to anything....he hasn't even brought robert around our new house while i've been there. at this point i want absolutely nothing to do with the kid, since tom won't let me be around him and has done absolutely nothing since we've been together to show me that robert is a whole lot more than a spoiled whiney kid. at one time in the relationship, i used to look forward to all the things robert and i could do together to become friends. and now that this bullshit has been dragged on for over 2 1/2 years, i cant help but think of him with some hostility and a bunch of sarcastic remarks about what will never be....

such is life in my new home....

1 people had something to say