thursday morning flood

11:09 pm | 05.11.06

Thursdays are usually reserved for catching up on any sleep I might have missed over the past week. It happens to be the only day Tom and I have off together, so I don't have to worry about him getting up early to go to work or have to get Robert on the bus for school. Countless Thursdays have passed where we did nothing more than lay in bed and let the hours pass. Sometimes we'd sleep, others, we'd talk or just stare at each other. Since our move, though, Thursdays have been reserved for work.... packing, hauling boxes, signing papers, unpacking, painting, etc. I haven't had much of a chance to catch up on my sleep in between the anxiety of sleeping in a new location, Tom tossing and turning and snorting and sniffing all night because his allergies are bothering him, and all the work that needs to be done around here.

Today was Thursday. And we managed to pack it full of cleaning and unpacking and chores. And no, I didn't really get much sleep.

Yesterday before headining to work, I ordered our new mattress and had it delivered today. Unfortunately, because it was considered next day delivery, they couldn't give me a time window the delivery guys would show up. As luck would have it, the mattress showed up around the same time Tom and I were wandering around the house in our pajamas, trying to figure out where the three inches of water came from in our basement. They certainly weren't there the night before...I even had Tom check the sump pump to make sure it was working before we went to bed. Just as we made the realization that we'd be spending a good portion of the day attempting to clean the basement up, my dad knocked on the side door.

When I answered it, he looked at my pajamas and said, "Oh good, you're up..." to which I replied, "daaad...our basement's flooded." He grabbed his tools out of his truck (because he was over there to finish up the electrical work for us) and looked down in the basement. "Holy shit!" was the only thing he could say. He ran back home and grabbed his pump for us so we could pump the water up the stairs and out into the driveway. Apparently the main drain in the basement floor is completely clogged with sand and dirt (not a good sign to a homeowner from what I've heard) and isn't draining anything.

While all of this is going on, the mattress shows up and we are completely unprepared. Its the same delivery guys who delivered our dining room table and entertainment center....I didn't really care for the one guy. And I still don't after today. But that doesn't matter anymore. The only thing that does matter is that Tom and I now have a king size plush mattress that is so tall, I practically have to pole vault into bed. But its so damn comfy!! I can't wait to sleep in it tonight....

So it is now later at night, we've purchased sheets and a mattress pad for our bed and I am eagerly awaiting bedtime. The basement is as dry as it is going to get without a dehumidifier (which is our next home purchase tomorrow.) A couple of boxes were damaged by the water, as was a tv I had sitting down there. I bravely plugged the thing in to try it out, and all I got was a bright blue screen with yellowish green and red splotches all over it....as if someone passed a magnet across the screen. So thats toast. Tomorrow Tom and I will attempt to snake the main drain ourselves to see if we can unclog the mass, otherwise we'll have to call a plumber, which I'm not quite sure we can afford at the moment.

I'm going to bed now. i'm sleeping with my fingers crossed hoping that the basement stays dry tonight. I don't want to wake up to anymore flooded basements.... ever.

0 people had something to say