overwhelming

11:30 am | 06.02.06

My last entry probably didn't come close to illustrating just how overwhelming it is to be a new homeowner. Ok, so I can't speak for everyone, but its painfully obvious that I'm nearly drowning here with all the repairs needed and the confusion of which project to do first.

The AC didn't cost nearly as much as I feared it would. While he was able to get the unit up and running, and blowing fabulously cool air through my sweltering home, he didn't have very good news to report about the unit. It has become very apparent that the woman before us went the absolute cheapest route with any and all updates she did in the home in the past five years. The AC unit outside seems to have been poorly installed, according to the cooling guy. The unit, only two years old, already needed a freon recharge. The cooling guy suspects there is a leak somewhere in the unit, since it is losing freon so quickly. Unfortunately, there isn't an easy way to tell where it is leaking.

Just what I wanted to hear....

The pool is still being a giant pain in the ass at the moment. Even my dad trying fixing the pool for us but threw up his hands in annoyance and complained about how sloppy everything is. Tom and I even tried switching around hoses on the filter and bypassing the heater which has a constant stream of water leaking out of the bottom of it. We thought we had everything fixed and left the filter to run over night. By the next morning, so much water had leaked out of it that the filter was running dry. For now, its just sitting there, a giant mosquito breeding ground. We have no idea what to do with it or how to get it to stop leaking. I called the pool store that sold the lady all the hoses and stuff....and they were absolutely no help at all. They don't make house calls to help us figure out the problem. The guy I spoke with suggested I write down all the models of the equipment we have, and maybe they'd help us out. At the very least, he said, he could help us get all the chemicals we need to keep it maintained. What a scam.... Why would we need chemicals if we can't even get the damn thing to run!!!

The list of projects that need to be done is overwhelming as well. Every room of the house feels like it needs to be scoured again and again and again. Call me paranoid, but I still feel like we're living in someone elses house. It still smells like someone elses house, and I want to get rid of that. We have lots of painting to do, but until the couch comes in (we ordered it back in april) I have no idea what color will look nice in the living room. The dining room and kitchen desparately need to be painted as well, but all I can do is stare at color swatches...and I still have no idea. Most of the windows in our house are naked, so I some how have to figure out window coverings and how they work and what will look good.

I'm not an interior decorator by any means. I suppose one of the reasons I was looking forward to getting a house was so that I could make it my own, instead of living in four bare walls under someone elses rule for the rest of my life. Unfortunately, I'm having trouble creating any mature sense of style in my new home....

0 people had something to say