cedar point: the chicken in me

11:14 pm | 08.09.04

Steph and I spent the day at Cedar Point. It was sort of a last minute thing we threw together since the both of us had the day off. Just the two of us ended up going. For some reason or another, everyone seemed to have an excuse as to why they couldn't go. Of course, Tom had a list a mile long of reasons why he couldn't go. Marc claims he's short on cash, but I can bet he's going to the bar tonight and will end up spending about as much (if not more) than he would have at Cedar Point. Neal (Steph's boyfriend) couldn't go, but I can't remember why. Our dad couldn't go because he started physical therapy and told them he'd be there so he couldn't skip out on that. I have a feeling that even if we would have planned this out a few days in advance, we'd still get just as many people saying no.

So, it was just the two of us...

We had a great time, though. Well, sort of. I feel kind of bad for Steph that she went with me. I told her she's going to have to look for a new ride partner, since I've turned into such a chicken. It has been 6 years since the last time I was at Cedar Point. 6 years since the last time I was on a roller coaster. Needless to say, I was a little nervous. It didn't help that I got a horribly disorienting migraine before we left the house. I thought eating something or drinking lots of water would help me, but nothing did. Every time I got off a ride my head would feel worse and I would feel incredibly dizzy. After one particularly nasty ride, I had to sit down for half an hour, to make sure I wasn't going to pass out.

For the most part, I think we got to do everything we wanted to. We went on most of the rides. Or at least the ones where you didn't have to stand in line for an hour and a half. Out of the rides I said I would ride with Steph, we didn't go on the Mantis. Steph didn't get to go on the Millenium Force or the Magnum because the lines were long and she didn't want to go on them by herself. I just cannot see myself on those rides. Thats where I draw the line. She did get me to go on one ride that I protested going on the entire time we were in line. It was after that ride that I needed to sit down for half an hour....

I feel pretty bad that I turned into a chicken when it comes to rollercoasters. You know my dad couldn't let that one slide, either. When he heard about that, he wouldn't stop making fun of me, telling me I belong on the sidelines with my mom (who will not ride the rides at all) I have such a loving, understanding family, don't I? Steph said she still had a good time...I hope so.

0 people had something to say