let the numbers do the talking

11:49 pm | 07.12.04

A bet against me was placed at work today. Actually, two bets against me, one for me were placed.

Those who bet against me lost. Those who bet for me, won.

I suppose I should explain what all of this means...

Yesterday when I got to work, I sat in the break room complaining about how unfair it was that there were six people on the floor in peripherals on a Monday. No Monday has ever been so busy as to warrant six people working. Out of those six people, three were closing, and one was working a mid, meaning they left at 8. So...four people until 8 pm, three until 9. None of us were going to make any money.

One of the reasons I was pissed there were so many people on was because one of the people was one associate being pulled from general sales that I don't particularly care for. This is no secret at work, as most of peripherals doesn't like this guy either.

So, a bet was placed by another associate who heard my complaints. The bet was this... James (the associate I don't like) would sell more than I would by the end of the day. Stupid bet to place because no one is really going to bet against them, because James is such a shark, he almost always sells more than anyone in peripherals. I just sort of shrugged my shoulders and walked away...

Later in the afternoon, the guy who made the bet was still ranting about how great of a sales person James was. By then, another bet had been placed, by a few of the managers I believe, saying that James would not only beat me, but everyone in peripherals. I was getting a little peeved about the lack of confidence everyone seems to have in me....

To make a long story short, for a while James had quite the lead over me...well over $1000 lead in sales. I thought there was no way I was going to catch up. The moment I'd make a big sale and thing I was going to catch up and possibly pass him, he too had a big sale going up. But, with a little help, by the end of the night, I had $600 more in sales than him. I had beaten James.

But...that wasn't the end of it.

James couldn't accept the fact that he had lost. He claims that since I had a little help I forfeited the competition. Under no circumstances did I cheat. I wasn't taking sales from him or from anyone else. Any sales I was given were passed off to me, just like any other day.

Tom was saying that part of the reason James doesn't want to accept the fact that I beat him because he thinks he's such a great sales person and is desperately trying to get into system sales. I, on the other hand, don't really give a shit about getting to system sales or what kind of sales person I am. I'm right where I want to be and I'm having fun (for the most part) doing what I do: help people build computers, which is something James knows next to nothing about. Tom also mentioned that James doesn't want to admit the fact that everyone likes me better than him, or they would have been helping him, not me.

Oh well. I still won in my mind...
$4400 to $3850
Let the numbers decide.

Thanks to everyone who had faith in me, especially when I didn't.

0 people had something to say