missing wheatland

11:11 pm | 09.13.04

So...this weekend was Wheatland. I tried my hardest not to think about it, about how I wasn't going this year, but that didn't quite work.

It was nice that I was able to keep so busy this weekend, though. I wasn't dwelling on Wheatland the entire time. But, I found myself day dreaming about it too much for my own good. One minute I'd be fine, the next minute I'd be on the verge of tears thinking about everything I'd miss. And, of course, how can I possibly think about Wheatland and forget about Simon. Poor guy. I miss him terribly!

I set my pictures folder as my screen saver and it rotates between all the pictures. The Simon pictures always pop up and it makes me sad to think that I don't have him anymore. I know what I did was for the best, but that doesn't make me miss him any less. Last year, shortly after I came back from Wheatland, I realzied it was rather fitting that my last trip to Wheatland would be the time I said goodbye to Simon. I was ok with this at first, until this year's festival drew closer.

Last week I talked to Dan for a bit, to see if his family was going. Sadly, they're not going. I thought even if I wasn't going, they'd still go and have a wonderful weekend as always. Since Pete went to school and his mom seems to always have a retreat of some sort, it just didn't work out. It makes me sad to hear they didn't go...

I loved Wheatland, in case you couldn't tell. The experience meant a lot to me every year I went. I know everyone must think I'm crazy, but this really meant a lot to me, and now its gone. Tom asked me why I was getting so mopey about it and why I couldn't go anymore....and I had to think about it. I can't go because first of all, I'm not a member and its difficult to get tickets when you're not a member. Secondly, who would I go with? I've always gone with Dan and his family, I don't have anyone else would be interested in going. Finally, it just wouldn't be the same. Some things you just leave alone after they change, and I think this is one of them.

Here are my previous Wheatland entriess...
Wheatland 1
Wheatland 2
Wheatland 3
Wheatland 4

0 people had something to say