madam president no longer

10:11 pm | 04.16.04

I am officially no longer in charge of Sigma.

Tonight was the end of the semester bash and we inducted the new eboard members for next year. I officially handed off the Sigma book to the next president and I no longer have any responsibilities in Sigma.

I didn't think much of it before the event, I think I was too busy running around trying to get all the gifts together for the profs and such to pay much attention to it. But after I got a chance to sit down and talk to a few people, it started to sink in. Now, I know I've been complaining about Sigma and everything that has happened during the year I've been president. That doesn't necessarily mean that I won't miss being so involved in the group.

Even though this semester was incredibly crazy in terms of scheduling and trying to get anything done at all, I still missed all the things we didn't get to do....like movie night or the colloquium or the afternoon teas in the facult lounge. These are all things Sigma once did, but didn't this past year. I feel partly to blame for that, since it was my responsibility to get everything organized. It was tough, though, with as much as I had going on in my life during all of this, to accomplish as much as I was able to this semester.

Sometime this summer I have to meet with the new eboard to sort of guide them into next year. Last year's eboard didn't do that for us, and I wish they would have. It would have made things quite a bit easier I believe, but I could be wrong. It also would have helped quite a bit if we would have had a more involved group. Its too difficult to plan things when only a handful of people are actually willing to help out.

Oh well...I did what I could and that has to be good enough for me now that its over. I can just see this being one of those things where I regret not accomplishing more...another opportunity I wasted.

Just give me my honor cords and lets be done with it already....

0 people had something to say