Steph's weekend road trip

9:36 pm | 04.18.04

I couldn't help but worry at least a little bit about Steph this weekend. She decided to go on a road trip with her friend Jen somewhere in Canada. I don't just mean Windsor, either. Three hours into Canada, I'm not exactly sure where.

The original plan was that Steph was going to go by herself. When she told me this, I got really mad at her. I had to admit, I freaked out about the trip when she told me about it. She was going to visit some guy she met online. Yeah, she met him online. Of course I was going to freak out about her going to Canada to meet some strange guy all by herself. Talk about being unsafe.

She managed to get her friend Jen to go with her, but that didn't make me feel much better about the whole situation. Come on, what about the situation, if anything at all, is a good idea? Strange guy. Different country (I don't care if it is Cananda). Two girls staying in a cheap motel. hmmmm smart, right?

Of course, what made me worry even more was the fact that my parents didn't know where she was going. Last they knew, she was going up to Central to visit her friend Katie. They knew Jen was going with her, but they thought she was heading up to Central for the whole weekend. I couldn't stop worrying about the things that could happen to them while they were out. No one knew where they were, so how could anyone help them if anything happened?

I called Steph this afternoon when I got out of work just to make sure everything was all right. She seemed a little annoyed/surprised that I called to check up on her. She was already on the road by then, but for some reason she's still not home. I called my mom to see if she had heard from Steph yet and she said Steph called her to tell her that they were going to the movies up at Central with Katie and then they would leave.

I keep wondering how long it will take my parents to catch on to her real trip. She took the Explorer and I can't stop thinking whether my parents will notice the extra mileage that happened to just appear on the car. I told Steph mom and dad aren't stupid enough not to notice 400+ extra miles more than it takes to get to Central and back on the car. I wonder if they really will notice?

0 people had something to say