voting troubles

11:24 pm | 11.05.02

Voting was quite the adventure today...

I have always hated the fact that voting polls were always in schools. I hated it when I was still in the public schools, and I hate it now that I'm an active, registered voter. In school, the teachers and principals would all make announcements about it been a voting day and that we were going to have lots of people in our school. The students, of course, always had to be on teh best behavior and lhad to be as quiet as we possibly could. This annoyed me. Why did we have to go out our way to accomadate these people who were severely inconveniencing us?

Today reconfirmed my hatred of polling places being in schools, but for an entirely different reason. It seems as though teachers and principals now forgo the formalities of required student behavior during voting days. My polling place happens to be in a middle school...the worst place it could possibly be. Today, while wandering around the school trying to find where I was supposed to vote (there weren't any signs directing us through the school) I encountered several rude students. While trying to call my mom to figure out where I was supposed to go, a girl started yelling at me about cell phones not being allowed in school. It wasn't until later that I realized that she probable thought I was a fellow student.

A pack of wild boys really pissed me off. There were about 12 of them taking up the whole entire hallway, no one could get by. To add to that, they were pushing each other around, making them bounce off the walls down the hall way. It just so happens my path crossed with these boys. Did they part to let me pass through them unscathed? Hell no. Kids these days have no manners what so ever. It just so happens that they also thought I was one of them and started pushing themselves into me, slamming me into the wall. argh....I am still pissed about that. I should have dragged them to the nearest office and had the secretary yell at them. But, I didn't...because I'm a retard like that.

Did anyone else go vote today? I hope no one else had quite the experience that I did...

*~Katie~*

0 people had something to say