a day with turtles, a hippo, and the kid

3:19 pm | 04.15.04

The kid has been out on spring break this week. Today, both Tom and I had the day off so we decided to take him to the zoo. I was a little nervous at first about being around the kid for such an extended period of time. Well, actually....I was scared as hell about it, but I agreed to tag along anyways.

It wasn't as uncomfortable as I thought it would be, but I still wasn't the most comfortable being around Tom and the kid all day like that. I was too worried about what the kid would think about me being there. Or, even worse...what the kid might say to his mother about me being there. I did a lot of walking off on my own, trying to keep a low profile the whole time we were there. I'd walk off ahead of them so they could stay together. I'd stand back while the kid went to go see something with Tom, just so I wouldn't be around.

Apparently Tom didn't have such a hard time with it. Actually, he seemed to think it was a good idea for me to be around the kid as much as I was. At one point, rather than having me wait in line for everything, he sent me off alone with the kid to find a table. I had to sit at the table by myself with the kid for longer than I would have liked... there I was, stuck with this kid who would give me the same answer for every question I asked him, no matter what it was... "I don't know." I don't know if he's always like that, or if he just didn't want to talk to me and that was his answer. But if he's always like that, I suppose now I understand why Tom always gets so mad at me whenever I say "I don't know" or "I don't care" for an answer. Anyways, I was tired of sitting there in silence or getting "I don't know"'s for answers, so I dug out the map to the zoo and had him point out a bunch of things on the map to me. That was pretty cool. He's a smart kid.

I'm glad I ended up going to the zoo with them, I had a lot of fun. It had been two years since the last time I went to the zoo. I think the last time I went, was with Dan and Dave for Dave's birthday. We took some really cool pictures then, which I can't seem to find. Theres that one picture of the camels I would love to show everyone again, but I can't locate it. Anyways, it was cool being able to see all those animals again...like the peacocks (which were walking all over the place flaunting their tail feathers!!), and the hippos!!! yay for hippos. And the turtles. Oh man, it was so cool seeing the turtles! It made me miss poor simon so much. ;0( We walked around this pond outside the amphibiville exhibit and there out on some branches were turtles laying in the sun with their necks all stretched out, just like simon used to do!

The zoo is cool...I should go back sometime soon.

0 people had something to say