do I even want to know you?

11:05 am | 07.16.04

My senior year in high school, I was class president. One of my duties as class president was to give a closing speech at graduation. While I should have this speech committed to memory since it was such a huge occassion for me, I do not. And, as much as I would like to post it here for you to look at, I cannot, seeing as a certain hard drive of mine decided to eat it. So, I no longer have a copy of this speech. However, I do remember the most important part of my speech: the end.

In my closing remarks, I asked my fellow classmates to "make me say 'I knew you when...'" In saying asking this, I meant for everyone to go out and make a name for themselves. I challenged them to become successful in anything and everything they do in their future. I did this because so many of my classmates had already made a name for themselves amongst our community, even outside of it, because of their achievements.

I bring this up because a former classmate of mine recently made a name for himself. Unfortunately, he is not receiving the publicity we had both hoped for. To prevent any google searches on this man ending up on my site, I will not include his name.

This man I speak of graduated with me from high school, went to school to become a fireman, graduated, and on his graduation day, went out to celebrate with friends. On his way home from celebrating, he killed a cop, and is now awaiting trial.

I cannot even begin to imagine the shock this man must be in. To wake up in a hospital bed, not knowing why you're there or even how you got there in the first place. To wake up worrying about missing your first day at work as a fireman, only to realize you won't be going to work for quite some time, if ever.

Needless to say, this man is receiving lots of publicity, none of which is good. His somber face has been plastered on the evening news and across the front page of the newspaper.

This isn't what I wanted when I said "make me say 'I knew you when...'" I can't help but wonder what else is going to happen to my class...

0 people had something to say