Its about damn time she learned to drive

6:01 pm | 08.07.02

Four months shy of her 18th birthday, Steph finally got her license.

This summer, my dad was on a mission to make sure that she got her license before she started her senior year in high school. For a while, she had some excuses as to why she didn't have her license yet, but then they got old. When she could be found vegging out on the couch watching tv eating pints of Ben & Jerry's more than she was doing her homework or working out, my parents lost their sympathy for her.

She lived through almost a year of harassment from my parents and her friends, when carting her butt around town all the time got a little old. I didn't harass her quite as much, only because I knew how difficult it was to get my license, since we were both under the new law which completely sucks by the way. She finally got in most of her hours and decided to set up a road test, which she passed with less points than even I had. I think its only because she had more practice parallel parking than I did...or something like that.

So, now she's completely excited about having her license. Of course, she just got it this past week, so she still has to wait two more weeks before she can toss the paper license. I think she's excited to see what her picture looks like. As if it really matters...

There have already been a roller coaster ride of ups and downs in our house because of her having her license. All she wants to do now is drive around, even though she doesn't have anything to do or anywhere to go. My mom won't let her just drive around aimlessly by herself, so there have already been about 15 screaming matches about whether or not she gets to take the car out. The annoying part of the whole thing is that I completely lose out now. I know I've told you guys before about my dad's threat...the one where as soon as Steph gets her license, I lose the car...well, it came true. Steph can use the car before me, even if I have to go to work. Yesterday she drove me to work so she could have the car, and then had my parents go with her to drop it back off at the restaurant so I could drive myself home.

Wonderful, huh? Now do you understand why I'm frantically trying to figure out my car and financial situations?? So I don't have to deal with any of this any more. At least this way I know I won't have to come home early or cancel plans just because she needs to be picked up from school or dropped off at swim practice. Now all I need is my own car...one that I don't have to share with her!!

Be sure to congratulate my sister

*~Katie~*

0 people had something to say